Stormwater Management Department

The Stormwater Management Department maintains the stormwater management facilities, which treat runoff water by trapping pollutants and trash and slow down the water release rate before the water enters receiving waters.


The stormwater management facilities consist of 210 miles of storm drain lines, four open channel swales, 2,004 manholes, 5,244 intakes, 37 city-owned stormwater ponds, 12 city-owned stormwater underground facilities, and four stormwater pumping stations along Carroll Creek. In addition, this department inspects 227 privately maintained stormwater ponds and 135 privately maintained underground facilities every three years to ensure they are within compliance with the Stormwater Phase II regulations.