Westside Regional Park Task Force

Overview


Comments and feedback are welcome on the proposed Westside Regional Park. Please submit your feedback on the Westside Regional Park bubble plan here.


Purpose: An ad-hoc task force appointed by the Mayor (per City Code: Section 28i) to: (a) complete the design and engineering (b) oversee implementation of the Westside Regional Park Plan and (c) develop design standards for the Westside Regional Park.

This task force shall be facilitated by the City Department of Parks and Recreation, and shall be composed of 14 representatives from the City and County, the Parks and Recreation Commission, Golden Mile Alliance, Frederick County Chamber of Commerce, Tourism Council, Frederick County Public Schools, Higher Education Facilities, Neighborhood Advisory Councils, Aquatics and Soccer user groups. The task force shall be responsible for, but not be limited to the following:

  1. Serve as a recommending body to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen and bring forward all proposals, plans, and costs, etc. for workshop review and public meeting approval; and
  2. Coordinate its work with the various Departments of the City, the Parks and Recreation Department, Parks and Recreation Commission, Planning Commission, etc. as necessary; and
  3. Review existing Westside Regional Park plans and review successful park plans and projects from other communities; and
  4. Refine and complete design plans and design standards for the park; and
  5. Prepare detailed engineered improvement plans (using resources provided by the City); and
  6. Provide general oversight of the construction of the park improvements.

Goal: To complete the Westside Regional Park improvements on the Hargett Farm property.

Resources



Mission Statement


Our mission is to provide a high quality venue to foster and encourage fitness at all levels of ability. This park will provide the resources needed for the City of Frederick to host and participate in high level athletic competitions, practices, and training as well as leisure activities for the community in a cost effective and environmentally responsible way.

Time Frame

:
  • 1 Year – April 2017 to April 2018 (to be extended as necessary)

Meetings


  • 3rd Wednesday of the month
  • 7pm, Annex 1st floor, Conference Room C

Agendas & Minutes


Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are also available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All


Task Force Composition


The following individuals have been appointed to serve on the Westside Regional Park Task Force. Additionally, several resource people have been identified to assist the task force on an as need basis.

 

NAME

ORGANIZATION

PHONE

EMAIL

1

Paul Lebo

FCPS

301-696-6805

Paul.Lebo@fcps.org

2

Chuck Mann

Higher Ed – Hood College

301-696-3611

Mann@hood.edu

3

Bob Hicks

Frederick County Parks & Rec

301-600-6816

Rhicks@frederickcountymd.gov

4

Joe Baldi

City of Frederick Parks & Rec Commission

301-600-2077

jbaldi1212@comcast.net

5

Deb Reynolds

Golden Mile Alliance

 

goldenmilepresident@gmail.com

6

TBD

Chamber of Commerce

 

 

7

Melisa Muntz

Tourism Council

301-600-4023

mmuntz@fredco-md.net

8

Rob Fox

Aquatics

240-529-5774

rob@aquatictrainingservice.com

9

Bo Eskay

Soccer

301-471-4610

bojac@mac.com

10

Lance English

NAC 8

 

lmenglish@comcast.net

11

Frank Strakonsky

Resident

240-285-6665

strako58@gmail.com

12

Ed Hinde

Resident

305- 772-0901

edhinde@gmail.com

13

Donna Kuzemchak

Alderman Liaison

301-600-1382

dkuzemchak@cityoffrederick.com


Technical Staff Resources

NAME ORGANIZATION PHONE EMAIL

Bob Smith

Deputy Director of Parks and Recreation – City of Frederick

301-600-1902

bsmith@cityoffrederick.com

Zack Kershner

Director of Public Works

301-600-1404

zkershner@cityoffrederick.com

Joe Adkins

Deputy Director of Planning

301-600-1655

jadkins@cityoffrederick.com

Tracy Coleman

Deputy Director of Engineering

301-600-1401

tcoleman@cityoffrederick.com


If you are interested in an appointment to a citizen board or commission, please complete the Commission Vacancy Application.

Complete the application online or download the application